

Tommy Hazouri
City Council President
At-Large, Group 3
E-Mail: thazouri@coj.net

117 West Duval Street City Hall, Suite 425 Jacksonville, Florida 32202 Office (904) 255-5217

## OFFICE OF THE CITY COUNCIL

September 25, 2020 8:00 P.M.

## **SECOND AMENDED MEMORANDUM**

**TO:** Honorable City Council Members

**FROM:** The Honorable Council President Tommy Hazouri

**SUBJECT:** The Special Investigatory Committee on JEA Matters

\_\_\_\_\_

In accordance with Council Rules 2.103(a), the Special Investigatory Committee which was scheduled to conclude on September 30, 2020 is hereby extended until December 31, 2020. Furthermore, I have received and accepted the resignation of Council Member Diamond from the Special Investigatory Committee, the composition of the Committee going forth will be Council Member Brenda Priestly Jackson, Chair, Council Member Randy DeFoor, and past Council President Scott Wilson through his council term, thereafter as Council President, I will replace him for the remaining Special Committee term. Other than modified herein, the charge remains the same.

The Committee should organize its review as follows:

- (1) Discussion of procedures and protocols.
- (2) Historic timeline of events.
- (3) Review of existing records, resources and materials (from OGC, IG, JEA and other sources).
- (4) If necessary, conduct further investigation into matters related to the charge of this memorandum.
- (5) Analyze matters that, through the powers invested in this legislative body, could be prevented in the future through legislative action. Issue a report reflecting same.

**CHARGE:** 

Investigate JEA matters related to the recent pursuit of the strategic option to potentially privatize JEA. Determine matters that, through the powers invested in this legislative body, could be prevented in the future through legislative action.

This review should include JEA's review of the five scenarios for the future of JEA, including the Invitations to Negotiate; JEA's decision-making in pursuit of privatization; and the proposed employee incentive program known as the Performance Unit Plan.

**CHAIR:** Brenda Priestly Jackson, Chair

MEMBERS: Randy DeFoor, Scott Wilson. Upon the effective date of Council Member Wilson's

resignation from City Council, Council President Hazouri will take Council Member

Wilson's seat on the Special Committee.

**DEADLINE:** December 31, 2020

The Committee shall prepare an initial schedule of meetings and shall report its findings to the Council President on or before December 31, 2020, unless the special committee is otherwise extended or terminated.

The committee and I are committed to seeking the truth, as the people and city council will not stop until we have exhausted every effort in our investigation.

Thank you to each of the Council Members and the staff who make the commitment to serve on this important committee.

cc: Council Members/Staff
Cheryl L. Brown, Director/Council Secretary
Jessica Matthews, Chief, Legislative Services Division
Kim Taylor, Council Auditor
Jeff Clements, Chief, Research Division
CITYC@COJ.NET
Media Box
File Copy